Working With Greenstuff

Oscilioth

Hey guys,

Just looking to get some tips on working with greenstuff, I've been fiddling around with it for a couple of years now and I'm fairly comfortable making amorphous blobs and the like, but doing anything much harder than that seems like it would be very difficult.

I have trouble getting the greenstuff to a workable state, I cut a bit off and mix it to green and then dunk my tools or fingers in water and place it where I want it to go, but it's really hard to get it to stick to anything. It prefers to stick to my fingers or the tool, unless I get them really wet, in which case it won't stick to anything. Am I doing it wrong?

If I do get it to stick down then doing any kind of work is difficult on it because it just pulls it up and it falls off again.

I am mainly using it now to get my models to stand on their base and to fill in the tab at the same time, but even that is hard to do.

Is there an obvious problem somewhere? Is it the water? Do I need to leave it to dry after I mix it and before I work it? Is it just too old? I've had the same coil since I started using it 2 or 3 years ago, it's been kept in the freezer.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks guys :1_Happy_Puppet1:

If its been in the freezer, it should be ok. The thing I'd guess at is that the water from your fingers and tools is getting onto the putty where it touches the model. Which will stop it sticking. I actually press green stuff into place with my fingers, then use a damp (licking it is enough) tool to get the rough shape. After that, you can let it stiffen for quarter of an hour if you like, then use wet tools to shape it neatly.

If you have too much water around, it gets in the way and ecause of the pressure from your fingers/tools, the green stuff will always stick there first...