New player, where to start and a few questions.

Ashenor

Hi, me and my roommate are thinking about trying Malifaux.

I am new to table top gaming, just recently got into Warmachine but waiting to play my first game.

We both like the look of Malifaux and have committed to buying a box set each.

Looking on the website I can't really get a feel for how the different factions play.

Just by looks alone Death Marshall's, Sonnia's, Viktorias set set stood out to me.

On the wiki it did not show if Sonnias was easy to start with or not. But the other 2 were suggested for newbies.

Seems like I like those to factions, What style game do they play?

Looks like we will each pick up a fate deck and a rule book.

Anything else you would suggest?

Thanks

Lady Justice (with the Death Marshals) and the Viktorias both play fairly similarly, in that they're focused on getting into melee and beating everyone to death. Sonnia is more focused on spell blasting and punishing enemy spellcasters.

Just as a point, I would not recommend the Viktorias box, simply because it doesn't work very well as a crew. You would be better off getting blister packs of the Viktorias, Taelor and some Ronin, in my opinion.

At the end of the day, just pick whatever crew you like the look of most, and don't worry about whether it's "newbie friendly". More complicated crews might take a little longer to learn, but that's no reason to avoid them, and there is plenty of advice for new players on any crew in the game. Also remember that the crews that come in the box sets are not the only way those models can be used - you can easily and effectively use the Witchlings from Sonnia's set in a crew led by Lady Justice, for example.

If you are getting Lady J an Executioner can't be a bad addition and he looks cool to boot.