My Guild crew - advice welcome

mr pokey

Hi there, I'm new to Malifaux (only 2 learning games under my belt) and am currently building up a Guild crew.

I bought the Lucius box set because I liked the look of the models. In my head I thought running this elite guardsmen style force with a bunch of attack dogs would be awesome, but then reading the rules, and finding out Lucius is a henchman, and not a 'proper' master, Ive been forced to re-think my crew building plans...

In my first 2 games I got totally stomped. One big element of this is that I was trying to protect Lucius, when in reality, he should probably be leading the charge. I have played against a Seamus crew, and a Lillith crew, and both times I suffered badly for having living models. I'm still wrapping my head around the rules and strategies, but I think its clear that I need to expand my model selection outside of the Lucius crew box.

I settled on the Ortegas as my next box to pick up. I like the gunslinger feel to them, I think Perdita and Lucius will mesh well together in 35ss games, and using Lucius's re-enforcements power to teleport papa loco where I want him, and then sacrifice him, sounds pretty good to me!

I will be updating with my battle reports, and painting progress etc here. So if you have any suggestions for my on what to add to my crew, or what works well with Lucius let me know. I know a lot of people say to bring austringers with Lucius, but last time I tried they were not an option in the crew creator. Can you bring them if he is acting as master? or does Perdita have to come along as well?

anyway, looking forward to getting some more games in next week, Ill let you all know how they go and ask for advice on how not to get stomped so badly. :-P

So welcome.

Ok lucius is good but is better support than frontline.