Jump to content
  • 0

ECB with Icon using Knocking Down the Pillars of Reality


retnab
 Share

Question

(I'm not the one who noticed this interaction, credit to Ol Bill on the TOS Discord, just wanting to bring it to Wyrd's attention for future FAQ)

  • Knocking Down the Pillars of Reality: On any Turn after the first, if there are three unengaged Fireteams in this unit, discard the top card of your deck for every enemy Fireteam within the triangular area between this unit's Fireteams.  [...]

If someone hires the ECB Black Ops with the Icon of the First World, then what is normally a three Fireteam unit suddenly has a fourth Fireteam.  RAW, I think this means a few things:

  • The ECB Fireteams can still use Knocking Down the Pillars of Reality but only if exactly one of their four Fireteams are killed or engaged
  • If one of the ECB Fireteams are engaged and the others are all alive, the engaged Fireteam can use Knocking Down the Pillars of Reality because it doesn't say anything about the user having to be unengaged

The "triangular area" is a bit of a problem too, RAI it seems obvious it means "between this unit's unengaged Fireteams" but if the way you're getting exactly 3 unengaged Fireteams is that the 4th Fireteam is engaged you technically have a four-sided shape you could be drawing an area from because RAW it just says it's the area "between this unit's Fireteams."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
3 hours ago, retnab said:

you technically have a four-sided shape you could be drawing an area from because RAW it just says it's the area "between this unit's Fireteams."

You want to argue RAW when you're trying to ignore the fact that you don't have a triangular area when there are four fireteams?  🥶

There are all sorts of ways that the card could be rewritten so that it will function when the unit has four fireteams.  All of them require changing words on the card.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information