Monsters and Triggers

Scrootered

Good Evening All,

Let me preface this by saying I'm rather new to this system, but have the books.  So if you can point me in the right direction, I will certainly read it myself.

Here is my issue.  I will be running my first game tomorrow.  I've been browsing through the monster lists trying to figure out what I want to throw at my players.  Some of the monsters I've targeted have triggers.  Most of them are damage triggers, which I believe will trigger on my damage flip.  I've found a few that don't have a "damage" flip.  More specifically, the Guild Reporter in the core book.  She has a Notice Trigger that blinds the players.  How is this resolved?  Do I flip to see if I trigger, or is it triggered off something the players do, like their resist flip or something?

(1) Flash Photography (Notice)
AV: 5 (10) ========== Rg: 5 ======= Resist: Wp
Target becomes Blind until the start of this character's
next turn. Capacity 1, Reload 1.
R "Hey! Look Over Here!": After succeeding, every character
within p1 of the target also becomes Blind until the
start of this character's next turn.

Thank you in advance.  I must admit, I am thoroughly enjoying this system (and setting) so far.

Scrootered

How I believe it works (and have been doing so for the last year) is that whatever the players pull up on their defensive flip is the suit the monster uses. 

For instance, if a player flipped a ram defending against Flash Photography, the Guild Reporter would be considered to have flipped a ram as well, and may use “Hey, look over here”

Hope this helps

• Like 2

I don’t have my book handy to give page numbers, but this should be explained in the section on duels, Fate master characters vs. Fated characters.

The Fatemaster character doesn’t flip a card, you use the suit of the character that is flipping a card.  That might feel weird, but it gives players a use for a variety of suits—avoiding triggers like that.

• Like 2