How many pigs?

Steinwand

just moved to gremlins and i am focusing on wong and ulix. 

I have 9 piglets and 3 war pigs (only really wanted 2 but bought a war rabbit). war pigs are not cheap enough to hire unless you are going for one pig against the world, flying from a taxidermist and shot in the rear from the hunting bow.

just my 2 cents with the caveat that i am new to the faction. 

I've never hired a War Pig (Rabbit), and I heard a lot of complaints that one of our fixer upgrades was for that model, since not many people would hire it to bother with the upgrade.  I'm not amazing with Ulix, so I've never had more than one on the table at a time from summoning.  That's probably also due to my primary opponent playing Outcasts this year, so it always gets shot to death before it can do anything.  Not 100% clear on that bit.

As for piglets, I typically get between 3 and 6 on the board, usually on the lower end.  My thing was always getting my 3 out to help get the markers to summon the War Pig and then move onto other things.  This is also why I tend to have Sammy summoning for Ulix.  1 less piglet a turn, but Ulix especially has better things to do with his AP than just summoning.  I believe I'm in the minority on that, but having Sammy summon, maybe give the saddle to Old Major to drag her ass around, it allows her to be where she needs to for summoning, while also moving up the board with the crew.  Then you have her always amazing Jynx ability for when it may become useful.  Plus her (0) to summon some stuffed piglets as well, if your opponent has markers on the table.

I've only managed to get 3 war pigs on the board at once. I always summon them/ never hire. Then I just treat them like cannon balls. After all of the free movement with hog whisperers, major, and Penelope, they are generally in easy charge range for their 1 action. If they live till the next round, great. If not, no problem, another is coming down the pipeline.