What are good rookie painter resources

Akodo Harid

So I am a rookie painter having done somethings that I like and somethings that I really really don't. I was wondering what are some good painting sites/tutorials that you would recommend?

I get that practice makes perfect but I still find that I thin paints too much, not enough, or end up with globby messy looking models...which is fine since I'm not paying 50+ to have someone else paint them, but I don't feel the improvement.

Case in point:

My best early paint job was Johan but the face is just, not a face (I don't have the picture of it at the moment)

Fairly recently I've been working on my brother's 10T stuff which he allows me to do since he doesn't like the modeling aspects and he knows I need the practice. The Oiran are awful, my Hodgepodge is not great. But I dig what I did with Toshiro/Strongarm, and Lone Swordsman

http://i.imgur.com/zAEUowf.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/ELVzXmd.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/5dL1rTx.jpg

Dr Faust's painting channel on youtube is good with a lot of resources. I'm pretty sure there's some starting off type videos on there, but he also just does a lot of painting so you can get a good look at the consistency and blends of colours he uses.

Tutofig also has a tonne of resources, some of which may be useful to you but they're pitched all over the place so it can be hard to go through.

What kinds of primer/paint/brushes do you use?

• Like 1

A few recommendations right off the bat:

1. It looks as if you are not using primer. I would strongly recommend Duplicolor Sandable Primer (available at most auto parts stores). This is a very important step that provides a solid base for your paints to adhere to. There are other brands of primer but most of the "game specific" ones are glorified spray paints instead of real primers.