Custom bases - Gremlins or any faction for that matter

consolas

Hello my friends.

I'm very new to this and still assembling my Som'er Starter box along with a Burt Jebsen - just followed advices from people all over the place and I'm starting to understand the game despite not having done a single match! :) Hopefully when I finish assembling, I get to try this game out, seems awesome.

Regarding the bases, if I did something out of wood but with the exact same size (or VERY close), would that be tournament accepted?

I wanted something that looked more unique and add a little weight to the unit itself.

Thank you 

As long as it is exactly the same size it shouldn't be an issue, however there are others methods of adding weight to the supplied bases without having to carve your own. You can glue fishing weights or metal washers under the base. You can also build more scenic bases to add some weight.

Personally I use milliput to fill the underside of my plastic bases, it adds quite a bit of heft.

If you want to go the scenic basing route (which will definitely allow you to create more unique basing for your models), here is one of the best simple tutorials I have found on how to get started (though there are plenty others that go into a lot more detail).

• Like 1

Thanks for the answers guys! From the tutorial, the dude uses Acrylic Medium as a substitute for the Envirotex. Since the latter requires a great deal of skill in mixing, I will go with the first for the water effect.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Winsor-Newton-Galeria-Retarder-Fluid/dp/B0027ISSMK/ref=pd_sim_229_1?ie=UTF8&dpID=41z9omD8ZdL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR86%2C160_&refRID=16Q0VYJK1BA56T74HZ1H

Is this good for it? I know this is a dry retarder which will come in handy when I try to do blends and gradients and stuff (we will see, I'm still new to this), but will it work for the water effect? 

Thanks!

9 hours ago, consolas said:

Quick Question:

71S%2Bp3-X56L._SL1500_.jpg