Looking to get into Malifaux, need serious help.

CiDevant

So my friends have roped me into playing this game.  At first I wasn't interested but now I really want to play badly.  I'm a veteran wargamer but this smaller scale stuff is kind of throwing me off.  I'm having some issues making up my mind on what Faction/Master I should go with.  I don't plan on buying everything thing for a faction but I would like to have some options.  Ideally, I would like to just buy a crew box set and enough extra mini's to play at a 50 soul stone level but I know how these things go and that I'll likely need an extra couple models for options.  At most I'd like to be looking at two crew boxes plus one loose figure.  (aka around $100)

I'm really only interested in a handful of masters and I was looking for some advice based on what my friends are playing.  My one friend is playing as Rasputina.  My other is playing as Pandora, The Dreamer, and he is planning on buying Jakob Lynch.  From what I understand there are some hard counter picks that could be made?

If I had made the first faction pick I think I would have gone with the Arcanists.  My first major question was if you could field the same faction and or master as an opponent?

After that I had questions about masters.  I am basically torn down the middle between The Guild and the Outcasts. The underlined are what I'm really having trouble deciding between.

From the Guild I really like Lady Justice and Sonnia Cried.  C.Hoffman and Lucius are also pretty cool.  Perdita and Lucas I'm lukewarm on, and I have Zero interest in playing Dr. McMorning.

From the Outcasts I really like the Viktorias.  Basically they're the reason I'd want to play the outcasts.  I could also play as Misaki or Von Schill.  Tera I'd put on the lowest rung I'd consider.  The rest I have no interest in.