Playing a "bit" more competitively

Hi I'm fairly new to Malifaux and I'm really enjoying it.

I'm looking for some advice on playing a bit more competitively without being "a dick" about it. Generally speaking I play  malifaux for the fun, the fluff and the social side of it. I've got no problem losing 9 time out of 10 as long its a laugh.

But I've found lately that I'm facing a few people who take things more seriously. Which I'm guessing its not too exciting for them to play someone who picks their crew by thinking that looks fun. And i'd prefer if there isn't going to be any banter during the game I shouldn't worry about pushing for the win.

I play guild so on paper I have everything I need to be competitive but I struggle looking the game that way.

A few thing are obvious like picking my crew for the schemes and strategies flipped not because I prefer certain models fluff.  :huh:

But things like deployment and activation order I know I should think more about. Also do I aim to pick up VP early on or focus more on killing off the opposing crew?

Any advice would be great, sorry about rambling on a bit.

There's a ton of things I could say here, but the easiest thing I can do is to point you at a great resource:

http://guessingzero.com/category/games/malifaux/

Read these guys "Fridaux" articles, and you'll come away with a much greater understanding of the mechanics of the game, and how to bend them to your desires.

In answer to your question -- you always want to be thinking about where your VPs come from. "How am I going to get a VP this turn?" If you can figure out how to get 2 VPs, that's even better! If you need to plan on how to get 3 in turn 5, then start planning in turn 1. And if getting VPs means killing your opponents models (Reckoning, Reconnoiter, some Schemes) then absolutely do that. But if getting VPs means losing your own models (Frame for Murder!) then start planning on how to get a guy to die. :P