Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Bumpasses

Smoke screen vs. Charge

Question

Enemy

Outside 6"

Targets my dood with a charge

My dood has smoke screen

 

Are the charge attacks on a negative?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

The charge attacks are separate actions so measure from where the model stopped the charge move and started hitting you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

As @Ludvig said.

Note, the Charge Action isn't an Attack Action, it's a General Tactical Action (pg 39, RM), so it wouldn't be relevant to the :-flipflips anyway.

It generates "two Range :ToS-Melee:Attack Actions against the target model" (same page), and so if it's in the :ToS-Aura: for Smoke Screen when it makes them, the :-flipapplies.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

At work, no rules

 

When are those two attacks actuary generated?

 

Are they generated upon declaration of the charge or when the charging model is in range of its own range for the swing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
8 minutes ago, Bumpasses said:

At work, no rules

 

When are those two attacks actuary generated?

 

Are they generated upon declaration of the charge or when the charging model is in range of its own range for the swing?

I believe they are generated after the move. The point at which they are generated is completely irrelevant though because smoke screen cares about when they target you which is always going to be after the move when they are actually declared. I don't think there even exists a :ToS-Melee: with greater range than 4" (maybe Hoffman usung his new upgrade to end power loop on a bunch of models to get reach 7 but no normal circumstanced).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
5 hours ago, Bumpasses said:

At work, no rules

 

When are those two attacks actuary generated?

 

Are they generated upon declaration of the charge or when the charging model is in range of its own range for the swing?

Ironically I'm not at work, so no rules to copy, but you move from the charge and then you make the attack actions . So your position at the point you make the attack is the one that matters, not where you were when you charge.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

As Adran and Ludvig state, it's after.

Quote

(2) Charge: Target a model within LoS. Move this model up to its Cg in a straight line. This model must end the move with the target model within its engagement range or this Action may not be taken. This model then takes two Range :ToS-Melee:Attack Actions against the target model. Each of these Actions must have an AP cost of 1. A model may not declare this Action if it is engaged (see Engagement, pg. 48) or if it has a Cg of “—”.

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×