Planning a Malifaux table

Arachas

Hi guys,

I haven't even gotten my crew yet, but already the scatchbuilding juices are flowing. I'm going to be building a custom Malifaux board (and maybe I won't even stop at one... lol - I love being able to play different setups and environments).

Malifaux, as I understand it, plays on a 3' by 3' feet table. I've done one of those before for the Batman Miniature Game:

10628230_726556924076433_898365322687747

While it looks cool, this table has one problem: the center area is rather tucked in between the two upper flat areas and the docks area. Meaning there isn't room to place any cool scenery as a center piece and/or objective.

Considering I have no experience whatsoever playing Malifaux, I thought I'd ask you guys first: if you could do a custom Malifaux table, what elements would you make sure were in there?

To illustrate my question, I came across these boards:

003-1.jpg

Bayou.jpg

While these look absolutely amazing, they have a couple of big problems going for them:

1. There's not a lot of room for scenery elements.

2. Because of point 1 your board will look quite the same every game you play. Which, in my experience, leads to stale games.

I don't necessarily want or need modularity (I played around with a 16-tile 4' by 4' board which I never finished) in terms of the surface. But I do want to be able to play as many types of games on there (within the Malifaux spectrum of missions and whatnot).

My idea is to create an industrial location on the edge of a swamp. Sort of a "mad scientist lair" in an abandoned part of a former industrial zone. I have got in mind to make a shack housing the lab, some power coils, stacks of crates and trash and finally some irregular trashy areas as difficult terrain.

For the playing surface I was thinking to cover about 2/3rds of the table with regular DIY isolation foam (nice texture for stone) and then 1/3rd with mud and pools, wooden bridges/planks and dead trees.