Mei Feng: Arcanists or Ten Thunders?

ierthling

Hi all - I'm relatively new to Malifaux, been playing once or twice a week for the past few months and loving every second of it. After an early, fun, but chaotic time with Som'er, I picked up Mei Feng, and I'm really liking her. I've been running her as Ten Thunders, with various combinations of Kang, Rail Golem, Metal Gamin, Rail Workers, and Archers. I'm contemplating where to expand from here, and in particular, whether to emphasize Arcanists or 10 Thunders - eventually I'll pick up more of both but with limited funds I'd like to make smart purchases.

I had been thinking I would get the Ramos box: Joss and Howard L. seem like they would work really well with Mei, and even the spiders could be good for some faster moving railwalk targets. But tonight I borrowed a friend's Sidir for a reckoning match, and he was the absolute star of the show: killed McMourning for Assassinate, killed other models for Reckoning, and even helped Burt Jebson (as a mercenary) with his Vendetta against Santiago.

So now I'm wondering: in general, do people like Mei better as an arcanist or as 10T? Has anybody run her with Wastrels (since I'd have to buy the McCabe box to get Sidir, I'm wondering about them)? Other directions I should be thinking about to add some tougher, higher stone models to her crew for things like Reckoning?

Any and all thoughts appreciated!

-Matt

Welcome to the game.

While I would not consider Mei my main, I do keep her in rotation. I personally always run her Arcanist. This has a lot to of with the fact I play mainly Arcanists, so take what I'm saying for what it's worth, and possibly colored by that fact.

Upgrade wise, most of what I take are her crew specific upgrades that can go either way, and as far as generic faction upgrades, the only 10T one I really feel any jealousy for is Misdirection, which seems like it would be quite fun with her.