Why should I keep playing Criid?

BlueJoker

So I've been playing Malifaux for only a short time now. I started playing the game by picking up the last available Master box at my LGS - Sonnia Criid. In the few games I've played with her, I've spent nearly every game falling asleep. The past two games in particular I've felt rather useless. The first was against McMorning in swamps for a shared slaughter. Spending the whole game at half movement, it took me 4 turns to get close enough to start fighting. My opponent on the other hand was killing off canine remains, building up corpse counters (12 in his second turn) and brought out Rogue Necromancy. I walked across the board for 4 inches on each model. By the time I finally got into combat, I was overpowered and defeated.

The most recent game I played was a 2v2 shared slaughter, McMorning and Pandora vs. Criid (myself) and Hamlin. Again, McMorning spent all his time building up to do bigger things, Hamlin spent twice the time killing and raising rats, causing plenty of havok. Again I was stuck at the back of the bus walking my way into battle, and again didn't do a damn thing until turn 4. This game was played using the new 3D Sewer Terrain, so my range was completely handcuffed by no los. On top of doing nothing on my turns, the opponents and my partner both taking forever to complete all of their activations I was stupidly bored.

The Hamlin player kept telling me to stop saying "this sucks" because "your caster is really awesome" and so on. When exactly is Sonnia awesome in games like these?

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

That first moment you get a well placed inferno into a bunch of the opponents guys is what did it for me.

I haven't been playing Criid long, but I've found that against aggressive armies that come flying up the board at you, she is a boss, otherwise you may be spending turn 1, and maybe even turn 2 double-walking up the board.