Painting Lilith's Brood for a complete Newbie?

TheRiddler

personally i don't like gw paints, cost to much, not sooo much paint, and its not the best,

i prefer game color, reaper paint, because you can mix them together better.

well, glue them, prime them (black or white) and use the colors you like,

always start with a nice and decent coat of your primary color. (i did purple for the skins and so on) use highlights, if you don't know how to apply them, drybrush them with a little lighter tone. after this highlight with an e;ven lighter tone, but not as hard as your first highlight.

so if you go with your brush 5 times over your model with the first one, you go only 2-3 times with the second. and sometimes i even use a highlight wich has 1/10 with white, and apply them with 1 stroke to have a nice effect.

as for the horns and wings well, i do the same thing, and for the skin, i even use a small amount of flesh tone wash and apply it to their body.

i now there are better ways to have a nice model, but this is how i do it and it works i am no pro and i've got no steady hand but my miniatures are painted like i want them and i like them :)

i'm a newbie myself, so my painting skills are like a 5/10 but i like them, because i did it myself.

Sephiroa gave some solid advice on starting off with painting. If any of that went over your head (IE drybrushing, highlighting, etc.) there are tons of videos on Youtube and hobby specific sites that will show you how to do the techniques.

As far as painting Lilith's crew goes, one thing I always like to remind newer people is that you don't have to paint them the exact same colors that Wyrd does. One of the most gratifying aspects of miniature war gaming is painting your minis the way you want them to look. Like Sephiroa said, they may not be pro painted, but if they're done the way you want them to be, you'll be a lot happier with them.