Steampunk Arachnids

Soylent

I'm new to Malifaux but a long time miniature gamer. I've a question on putting together the SA and SAS. I've seen it mentioned before that magnetizing them so you can swap them between the 30 and 40mm bases. If you've done that or know someone who has could you explain your technique? I've some 1/8" magnets but the spiders seem extremely fragile to put a magnet in their underbelly. I've considered just putting them on a brass rod where I can just loose pin them to the base. Advice welcome.

the best thing ive seen done is to put the magnet on the bottom of something such as a cog or pile of scrap and glue the spider to that, then just take the whole thing of the base when they swarm together or apart

This. Not only does it look like very good when the spiders are crawling across a scrapyard, the Arachnids are so small it will most likely be a royal pain to magnetize them all.

-Ropetus

what I did was glue the magnet to the base and put each spider on a washer. Becareful though. depending on your base, get a magnet that's at an 8 or 9. If your base is really thick, then you can jump to the 10, but if you're not careful, they will stick REALLY well and you'll end up pulling their little legs off.

I used these: http://shop.hobbylobby.com/store/item.aspx?ItemId=153236

I like the scrap idea too. I should have done that! You can scatter some scrap on both bases, but leave enough for you to place your spiders. caution, metal within the megnetic field becomes magnetized as well and your spiders will stick to that.

Here is a shot of mine on the left.

IMG_0713.JPG

Edited by Kaane Feinwong

• 3 months later...
the best thing ive seen done is to put the magnet on the bottom of something such as a cog or pile of scrap and glue the spider to that, then just take the whole thing of the base when they swarm together or apart