Swamp Bayou Scenery Project

praetorian13

Greetings Malifauxians. New to the forum. I have not played (YET) but I am a mercenary figure painter and got an order from a fellow to do a faction, then from his cousin as well. As I was doing the minis he saw my website and the scenery and said "Could you do a swamp board for us for a couple hundred bucks?" I love building scenery so I agreed to the challenge!

I thought I'd share the process in case it gives anyone else some ideas.

First off I discouraged the idea of building a static 3x3 board. After a few games you know all the "sweet spots" and strategies.

My instructions were to have him paint a 3x3 board using streaks of an olive green and brown, then top coat it with several layers of clear gloss lacquer.

2611401330101629488S425x425Q85.jpg

After that I'd build a number of "Islands" from foam about 1.5 inchaes tall. These islands could be moved around to make different formations

2160140890101629488S200x200Q85.jpg

To connect them I envisioned causeways. Large buildings would have dedicated "Islands. Smaller islands could have any number of things like a campsite or an idol or dangerous terrain (Man eating plants, alligators) a grave yard island, hanging tree, junk piles, even a Soulstone deposit.

2925194870101629488S200x200Q85.jpg

Some of the items could serve double duty in a ghost town or settlement so would not be affixed to the islands.

I started by searching for swamp structures on Google. I downloaded many pictures to get the colors of weathered wood down and to act as inspiration.

The causeways. I wanted them to look rickety but be very sturdy. AVOID BALSA WOOD for this kind of stuff. It is light but very fragile and does not support a lot of weight or careless handling!!