Jump to content
  • 0
tdc

Emergency Repairs and Combined arms Titans

Question

If a combined arms titan dies, can you use emergency repairs stratagem to bring it back?

If so, is this a whole new unit (that you can then reinforce to get 2 squads of mech inf) or are they still part of the original squad (and therefore likely out of coherency)?

When it comes back, does it do so with assets?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2
13 hours ago, retnab said:

Note that the stratagem doesn't say "friendly Titan unit", just "friendly Titan" so IMO it does work as long as there's at least one member of its Squad left and is close enough to its DZ to have it come back.  Still wouldn't be able to attach Assets to it, but if you're just looking for a "free" reinforce to get that one Fireteam back I think it works.

The issue isn't whether the card says 'titan unit'.  The issue which prevents it working is that the summoning rules are only defined for titan units.

The Summoning mechanics cannot Summon a Walker or Cutter fireteam because there is no Cutter or Walker Unit defined by the game.

The summoning mechanics also specify that what is being produced is a new unit containing one fireteam, so it cannot be used to add the Walker or Cutter to a Mechanized Infantry or Steel Legion unit.

In short, there's a set of two or three rules questions which are non-issues because you cannot summon those two cards.  They're not units and Summoning is only defined for units.

To paste the relevant rules text, again:

Quote

When an Action or Ability Summons a unit, it creates a new unit of the indicated name that is placed in the location specified by the Action or Ability.

The words "summon a friendly titan that was killed" do not say "return a friendly titan to play".

Just like in Malifaux, summoning is not bringing anything back, it's creating something new whether or not what is being created was supposed to be unique.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
7 hours ago, tdc said:

If a combined arms titan dies, can you use emergency repairs stratagem to bring it back?

No, because the Combined Arms titans aren't units.

Quote

When an Action or Ability Summons a unit, it creates a new unit of the indicated name that is placed in the location specified by the Action or Ability.

compared to the explanation of what the Combined Arms unit special rule denotes:

Quote

When a unit with the Combined Arms rule is hired into a Company, it automatically includes the special Unit Card listed in parenthesis after the Combined Arms rule. This special Unit Card adds a special Fireteam to the unit, as noted on its card (this does not change the unit's special rules for game rules, like deployment). Combined Arms cannot attach Assets to their special Unit Card.

There is no unit named "Walker" or "Cutter".  There is only a special unit card which gets attached to some other unit.

That means that you cannot summon a Walker or Cutter.  So you cannot use the first half of that stratagem on one.  

You can still use the second half, because they're titans.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
5 hours ago, solkan said:

No, because the Combined Arms titans aren't units.

Note that the stratagem doesn't say "friendly Titan unit", just "friendly Titan" so IMO it does work as long as there's at least one member of its Squad left and is close enough to its DZ to have it come back.  Still wouldn't be able to attach Assets to it, but if you're just looking for a "free" reinforce to get that one Fireteam back I think it works.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
11 hours ago, solkan said:

The issue isn't whether the card says 'titan unit'.  The issue which prevents it working is that the summoning rules are only defined for titan units.

Whoops, you're totally right, reading is important haha, yeah if it's a summon then it's Dreadnought or nothing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information