Starting a Slow Grow League - Taking up Gremlins with Som'er

VigotheButch

Its going to be a 6 week league. First two weeks are box only. Second two weeks will be 35pts that you can build with. Last two weeks will be full 50pts games. I'm relatively new to this game and just started about a month ago with Resurrectionists - Seamus. I thought it'd be fun to swap over to Gremlins for this league as I was torn between them and Reserrs when starting. 

I hear Som'er's box is probably the best as far as models you can use out of the box. Although, the first two weeks of the league dictate you cannot summon outside of your box which I believe would mean I couldn't summon more Bayous until the ones I started the game with die off. 

With that info, I was just looking for some tips and advice on how I can start playing Som'er with these restrictions and how to grow his crew and play him competently. A friend turned me on to Alex Schmid's new youtube channel that has amazing info in it but obviously not enough. Anyone have any good links I should check out? Any pointers? Thanks all!

Somer's box, though great, is really bad for "box only"-type of games since the SS count is super low. What does "box only" mean in your case? That you simply play all the models in a starter ignoring SS costs? That you play for a set cost and if the box can't make it, then tough luck? Or that you play according to the limit of the "smaller" starter? Or something else?

I any case, expanding a Summoning Somer is pretty simple: Slop Haulers, more Bayou Gremlins, and then some of the Gremlin staples like Merris, Burt, Sammy, or Roosters. Piglets are also a very good buy since both Somer and Lenny can summon them. Pigapult is also something that can be recommended though learning the Gremlins without it and then adding it in is IMO a better way of going about things than getting the pult straight away.

• Like 2