To reveal or not to reveal schemes....

oreaper

Question

Ok so this is a total noob question, but it came up recently in a game and i for the life of me couldn't give a proper answer.So as you know soem schemes can be revieled or hidden, usually giving a bonus if they are revealed. The question was based on the wording of the scheme is it possible to get 3 vp on breaktrough, protect territory, plant evidence, and power ritual if tehy are not revieled at the start of the game. I thought that they needed to be revieled to get the full VP, but after re-reading at the questioning of one of our newer player it seems to indicate that revealing these schemes just make 3 VP easier to achieve.  

10 answers to this question

I pretty much always reveal schemes. It is so much easier getting down 2 markers than 3 that I feel it is always worthwhile. As soon as you drop one it will probably be obvious what you are doing so I find keeping the scheme placement schemes hidden isn't worthwhile. I will occasionally take Murder Protege or Deliver the Message hidden if I think it is too easy for them to avoid if they know it's coming, but even still I almost always declare. I go into every game planning on scoring 6vp from schemes and trying to deny 1-2 points from the opponent, but that is just the way I view it. 

Revealing a scheme often makes it easier to score the VP however by letting your opponent know your intentions you may make life more difficult for yourself as it's also easier for them to deny you points. It's a swings and roundabouts kind of deal. Some schemes however cannot achieve full VP if you keep it hidden so often it's worth while revealing and going for it. Personal preference at the end of the day. I've found in my experience many of the beginners I come across try to be sneaky and rarely reveal any schemes which can often hinder them. I know I was the same when I first started. Not so much anymore.