Kutslo

Hello all... I'm fairly new to Malifaux and have started with Jakob Lynch. I always like to have a painting log for my Warhammer army to keep me motivated, but also to get advice on how to improve, so thought I'd do the same for Malifaux.

So far I've painted my Illuminated, and made a start on Huggy, although I haven't done the bases yet. With the Hungering Darkness I've tried to go for an ethereal effect, but I'm not sure if it needs a blue glaze to soften the highlights a bit. I'm also not sure whether to paint the "legs" a different colour to break it up a bit. Any thoughts much appreciated!

Anyway, here's my progress so far...

DSC00636.jpg

DSC00644.jpg

DSC00641.jpg

IM not sure if i would go for a full on glaze with huggy. Maybe paint all the recesses/shaded areas with a thinned out blue was doing a few coats as required? A wash of devlan mud on his teeth would work well i think. Also if you neatly applied gw violet wash around the edges of his eyes this would outline them nicely also adding more depth. Finish off with a bit of gloss on the eyes and i think he will be looking even better for minimal effort!

Just a suggestion :) i like the colours you have used for the highlights also :) my only critique would e the blue dress. I think a different colour more simular to the rest of the illuminated would have looked better. But that's just my personal preference..

Over all a quality looking start to your crew :) finally welcome to malifaux :)

Thanks for the feedback both.

Underdog - Thanks, I'll give those tips a go on Huggy. He doesn't seem quite right so hopefully that'll sort it :) With the dress I wanted something other than grey so thought blue as I've used blues on the other models. I'll probably use that blue on one of the Beckoners as well so hopefully that will tie it all in a bit more.