Jump to content

Yore Huckleberry

Members
  • Content Count

    320
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Yore Huckleberry last won the day on November 24 2019

Yore Huckleberry had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

111 Has a Big Hat

About Yore Huckleberry

  • Rank
    Enforcer

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Another boost to Dashel will be the Corrupted Ley Lines strat: Executioners are hard goalies for later points -- they have a threatening attack, can eat an enemy scheme marker with trail of gore, and can Scatter people away from the base contact they need at end of round. On top of that, Lead Lined Coat (or Dashel's own Laugh Off) allows your own models to stay in base contact against such effects. That makes TWO meaningful upgrades for Guild, now.
  2. I think Papa Loco is an interesting thought. You can throw him in there to either proc or feint point one with some payback, and if he winds up as your second martyr, the Grit ability and Juggernaut help him switch to staying alive.
  3. The Charge trigger has been non-master only already, so that's not a change if you mean using it to TARGET Leveticus. @Irritated Walrus, this is from the new FAQ document, the Specific Abilities section, number 12:
  4. So, Nellie lost her two best counters: Corrupted Idols and Deliver a Message, RIP. She also got a ruling confirmation that enemies forced to take an interact MAY simply choose to "remove all markers," even when that number is 0, so no baked-in synergy with Dashel-summoning, etc. That said, we got clarification that a model being Exclusive Interview'd counts as BOTH a friendly AND an enemy model, so now Nellie's One More Question can cause {forced interact controlled by Nellie, card draw by Nellie, focus for Nellie, slow on the target, 1/3/4 if engaged on target, focus for other reporters}. That's a decent bit of master tech, particularly on a model that can also control a charge and, e.g., spend a focus or ALL of a rider's tokens (you can add them to the duel total even if you aren't declaring anything with them!). Schemes and Strats seem to be a mixed bag for Nellie: Schemes: Breakthrough remains possible with some careful play Hidden Martyrs is potential defensive tech/scoring capacity for Field Reporters! Sabotage looks rough, but False Witnesses can theoretically narrow the requirements. Leave Your Mark looks to be Nellie's new temptation, both for achieving and denying. Again the False Witness can help drop the additional markers. Research Mission Nellie can get a scheme down by a strat marker, but it's pretty unclear where the third marker would come from ... kill a hound yourself? Spread Them Out feels somewhat possible for Nellie's crew, though they'll have difficulty defending those markers. Runic Binding might have some play if Phiona can pull in two activated models to where a third is and Nellie can surprise someone with a third marker drop, but it looks fairly difficult without some opponent misplaying. Strats: Symbols of Authority: Interact to Score with your Don't Mind Me, heal-on-interacts, Squeal'ing Master? Nellie probably enjoys this one. Undercover Reporter may be able to jump in and help in a surprising way too. Recover Evidence: Really Nellie's crew is just good on defense here; you can't interact if you're in an Exclusive Interview bubble, so you'll have to remove that figure first. Corrupted Ley Lines: Unclear here: if Nellie can force an interact and have a target toss their lodestone to another model friendly to the opponent, Nellie might have some denial game. That seems to be one remaining hole in an otherwise pretty robust adjustment of the rules. (Dashel looks pretty good here, between Laugh Off and Executioners playing Goalie with Scatter to push models off of base contact late in a round.) Public Enemies: On this kill-y strat, you probably look elsewhere. By and large, I'd say that the new pools aren't great for Nellie. You might use her for Symbols, but chances are she's just as good hired in as a second master to run your strat points while the rest of your crew kills and schemes.
  5. Took Nellie solo to a fixed-leader tourney over the weekend. I declared her because the strats were Plant, Idols, Turf, and Deliver was in the schemes on Turf. I drew our Conference's top-rated player running Shenlong first -- Plant Explosives in Wedge. I lost that one 6-2. Phiona did some good work keeping Shenlong off my rider, and I forgot that she had a LLC on her at the end, which might have let me score the second point of outflank. I also let him spook me into Squealing Nellie slightly away from an Idols marker in the last round, after which he was able to block LoS with a figure and terrain and use another figure to remove it by remaining out of LoS for her Exclusive Interview aura. So a few mistakes kept the dif good and broad, but the Undercover Reporter did good work denying him one of his Breakthrough points by shifting Arson targets in the endgame. Of note: he scored 21 of 24 total points that day, and I denied 2 of the 3 he failed to acquire, and if I'd thought to keep Nellie on her marker at the end, it would certainly have been 6-3. Phiona would have had to survive a totem attacking to keep her Outflank point if I hadn't moved her, so 6-4 was possible, but not likely, as it would have been card-dependent. Round Two was Idols against Kirai. I tech'd in a the Lone Marshal and an exorcist and Agent 46 to auto-kill summons. But with Detonate Charges and Harness the Ley Line in the scheme pool, I wound up just flooding the center with markers, and Nellie was able to use "Twist Their Ideals" to really potent effect more than once between idol markers, corpse markers, and scheme markers that my False Witness kept dropping. At one point I one-shot Ikiryo with that. Otherwise, I largely controlled Ikiryo with the Marshal and Nellie, kept Nellie up with the idols (they stayed on ram the whole game; I teched in a Guild Lawyer for the initiative bid/card recover trick with Tools for the Job). I think the False Witness may have been my only in-keyword hire. Anyway, I won that one 6-2. Round Three was Nellie vs Molly in a Reporter-Off! The strat was Turf War and schemes included Harness, Power Ritual, Breakthrough, Vendetta, and Deliver. I took Deliver and Vendetta (Lone Marshal on Carrion Emissary) because the board had a good amount of concealing terrain, and I thought I could sneak Nellie in to Molly in late rounds. Meanwhile, a Peacekeeper and Undercover Reporter were on defense against Breakthrough and Harness. I over-teched to be able to kill Archie and took an exorcist and Agent 46 again, and they ... sort of kept him back? I got better work out of the Lone Marshal auto-killing summoned rabble risers off of the Forgotten Marshal. I got a bit out of position here and left one of my easy turf points unclaimed, and the Carrion Em did good work blocking the PK in early (the Printing Press went up to take the destroy-terrain unnamed action). Anyway, the Lone Marshal solo'd his scheme, clipping the Carrion Emissary early in round 1 and then round 2 from across the board with run and gun; the two hits combined to give the second point. I was worried he'd play hard-denial, but activation order allowed me to clear the Emissary early round 3, though that left my Vendetta-horse pretty far forward. Still, the Peacekeeper was near it, and he flanked me with Archie and the Dead Rider on the other side instead. My exorcist and Agent 46 were able to shoot heavily into the Dead Rider and force a retreat, while Nellie "Twisted-their-ideals" on Archie, sending him back into the Necrotic Machine to try to unflip a turf claim and prevent a point (he cheated a severe to force a miss). The game swung hard after that, though: Archie came in and red-joker'd damage on Nellie, and he was able to start focusing fire onto her pretty well. Given that, I had Nellie run up and score the first point of deliver on Molly, and wound up losing my master. He brought in Molly for Breakthrough and scored Harness twice, though I stopped him from getting it round 3 with the undercover reporter's Arson trigger, and nearly stopped it round 5 again. We both capped at 2 turf points, so he won this one 6-5.
  6. Framing it out explicitly: A model with a sin token in range of Pride declares that s/he will be cheating fate. Presumably, Pride does not have to tell the player at this point whether Pride will be affecting their cheat card, as that would allow the cheating figure to know they should select a poor card. Step 1: Cheating model selects a card. The card is not yet in the conflict, so it is not public knowledge by the conflict rules. The "control hand" is still "public knowledge" in the sense that the opponent can ask for the number of cards there, but not, e.g,. what those cards are. If Pride must act HERE, there doesn't seem to be anything explicit making the card's identity known. Step 2: Cheating model's controller puts the chosen card into the conflict. Governed by the "cards in the conflict are public knowledge rule," the card is now public knowledge. If Pride intervenes HERE, then obviously Pride's controller gets to know its identity. Step 3: the original card in the Conflict is discarded. We know that the "cheated card" must be discarded instead, so the card in your hand becomes the "cheated card" at some point earlier than this. I think that both the game's general emphasis on player agency (e.g., the Pride player should get value out of Pride's abilities), and the fact that Pride's ability describes the card as a "cheated card" suggests that the card was actually placed into the Conflict, and should be considered public knowledge. It's colloquial and not technical, but it's hard to view a card as "cheated" if it is discarded directly from your hand.
  7. The question seems to be about the timing window -- when EXACTLY Pride has to intervene to strip away the cheat card -- rather than whether you can bluff that you're cheating in the first place, and I'm not sure the answers have addressed that precisely, yet? It seems to me that once you cheat, yes, the card becomes public information, but I do see the question: is there a timing window where Pride has to act before knowing the card, since Pride's intervention would prevent "cheating" from happening. So if Pride is preventing Cheating from happening, it does seem reasonable that at least one step is prevented. Step 3 certainly is: you don't discard the original flipped/selected card. But I at least see the question: step 1 doesn't say to reveal the chosen card; that rather seems to be an effect of step 2. So does Pride have to intervene after step 1 (clearly it must occur for there to BE a selected card referenced by the ability) or after step 2?
  8. I mean, if you’re playing for fluff then what is legal isn’t always right, and the Arcanists are the ones looking out for the little guy through unions, creativity, and allowing the exploration of individuality through magic. I got into Guild because it’s dripping with theme: steampunk nobility, giant constructs, multiple frontier crews, and those zany journalists (who in my head canon are more Lois Lane than party line propagandists!). Then I learned that they’re basically the nationalist party of Malifaux, but at this point I’m committed because I like a good fight and if I’m learning the game I might as well do it wearing training weights, so once I decide to branch out I really know what I want to do to play on “easy mode.”
  9. Yeah, I went through it on the Rules forum with some people and I'm persuaded -- I don't think he can push himself away from himself. (also, my major source of confusion on it was mis-hearing the TFW podcast about Lucius; the trigger they talked about him using on himself is the end-conditions trigger, not the push-target trigger)
  10. To be fair to my geometry, I literally laid that case out above in the paragraph where I made the case against it. Regardless, I just listened again to the TFW episode, and the trigger they were discussing with using Issue Command on yourself was the condition ending one, so the thing that got me confused about how this was possible in the first place turns out to be a listening error anyway. Happy enough with Lucius without it!
  11. It seems to me the best opposing case would be that a push needs to be drawn to the center of the model being pushed, from the center of the model it is pushing away from. In this case, that line cannot exist because those points are identical, and therefore do not constitute a line. The best case in support is that with identical points the push can be in any direction because the pushed distance will intersect with both the center of the pushed object and the initial point it is pushing away from.
  12. I mean, that’s simply the most-similar case. Again, the Lucius “experts” on TFW pointed out that this is legal, so I’m curious if there is a ruling somewhere?
  13. Intriguingly, height rules in Malifaux offer a similar possible case where Lucius on an elevated platform with holes in it could see a model directly beneath him whose base is centered exactly where Lucius’s is. In that case, we presumably would understand that the model could be pushed, and in any direction, even though you’d be arbitrarily selecting some point of the lower figure’s base that is off in a given arbitrary direction from the center of Lucius for determining “away.” Similarly; it seems to me that Lucius can make the same technical choice about himself, arbitrarily choosing any point along his base between his center and the intended direction of his push, and say “the model is here (among other places), and this is in direction X from the center of Lucius (who happens to also be the model), therefore Lucius will push in direction X, which satisfies the condition “away from Lucius” because “away” is defined from the center of the figure you are pushing away from.”
  14. This was asked in the Guild thread, but can Lucius push 2” away from the center of his own model if he targets himself with Issue Command and uses the Under Pressure trigger? Narrowly, the rules require that the object being pushed move away from the center of the object. Lucius himself being the center, the push is always away from his own center, even if you want to be continually checking it throughout the push through some sort of timing calculus. Has this been discussed? My basic search didn’t pull it up, and I believe the recent TFW episode on Lucius declared this possible, so I’m sure a lot of people will be asking.
  15. I’m not sure here ... the rules for Away simply say away from the center of the object; if Lucius pushes in any direction, he has moved away from the center of the object. Even if you want to make some sort of calculus argument where the rules must be checked at every microsecond of the push, that rules is consistently satisfied throughout: even though the center point moves as he does, he is always pushing away from it, and in the same direction, so he isn’t violating the rules of push.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information