New player, help me understand my options

shyguysamurai

Hello everyone, I'm brand new to Malifaux and I've decided that Ten Thunders is my jam. Having said that, I don't really grasp all of the fine points of the game yet and I was hoping I could get some veteran advice on what types of crews I can build out of what I have and what they'd be good at. Here's a list of my collection;

- The Thunder

- Temple of Dawn

- Izamu, the Armor

- Katanaka Snipers

- Ten Thunders Archer

- Ten Thunders Brothers

- Lone Swordsman

- Yamaziko

- Freikorpsmenn (I found them on sale for $4 and figured "why not?")

- Generalist Upgrade Deck 1 & 2

- Ten Thunders Arsenal Deck (wave 2) 

- POD Misaki errata card, Broken Promises x2, Dragon Stone x1, Misdirection x1, Recalled Training x3, Servant of 5 Dragons x3 (I ordered these not knowing what boxes they come with but seeing they seemed like popular upgrades. Worst case scenario I have extras so I can build two crew to teach others with)

Other than my preorder of a Terracotta Army box, this will likely be my collection total for a while. Are there any glaring omissions I need to fix to help make reliable crews? Any sample idea crews and recommendations on how to run them?

Thank you!

First of all, you have 2 masters - misaki and Shen long.  I'd recommend starting with misaki as she is probably easier to learn the game with.

however, there is no need to be tied to the rest of her box set - so let's use the rest of your collection.

yamaziko has theme and synergy with misaki, and the 10 thunders brothers are solid minions to learn with as they do lots of different things and are quite forgiving.  I'd suggest using 2 of a minion for now - if one does get killed, you'll have another that you can learn with.

having another hard hitter or two is a good plan, so izamu and the lone swordsman would be next.

these give you a crew, more or less, and a range of models to learn with until you see what works for you and what doesn't.