New to Gremlins

flindo

hey guys, I am new to Gremlins, and new to Malifaux in general, now I am waiting for the plastic kits to come out but I have a few questions surrounding the gremlins;

the main thing I am probably going to want is Bayou gremlins, but the question is how many would I normally want to take? they seem to be incredibly cheap compared to other people's basic troops so I wouldn't mind having swarms of them.

secondly, I was wondering if Som'er is solid, hes probably going to be the guy I start with and play with quite a bit before I pick up another.

and last, what is the general theme of gremlins, what kind of army are they, whats their strengths and weaknesses?

thanks for any replys!

First off, welcome to Malifaux! I think you'll find the Gremlin faction to be incrediby enjoyable ^_^

So... questions. Bayou Gremlins are incredibly useful for getting multiple objectives done at once. In a game that's won by getting Victory Points, if you can just do more stuff than your opponent can, they won't be able to stop you. How many you need is dependent on how you like to play and if you have Somer as a master. Personal experience, having 6-8 on hand, run with 3-4 in the starting crew.

Somer is a generalist master. He can do a little bit of everything okay whereas other masters do that one thing great. He's highly adaptable, so you can find multiple playstyles with him.

Gremlin theme... outactivation is something you should be pushing with Gremlins. In a standard game where your opponent has 5-8 models on the board, you should have 7-10. Your models will be a bit squishier, but you should be taking more actions than your opponent. Big weakness is going to be low willpower.

Hope this helps!