Hi Everyone(and a question)

Gareson

Hi everyone. I am a veteran Warmachine/Hordes player looking to branch out to Malifaux because it looks like another great game.

Am I correct in my understanding that there is a new ruleset coming out? If so, should I wait for this before I jump in?

Also, if I do wait for new rules(assuming the above is correct), would it make sense for me to still buy a starter set(such as the Witch Hunters Crew) and get to painting up some minis beforehand?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

Should probaably start off by welcoming you to the forums.. Soeh.. Welcome to the forums! :)

In february a rules manual will be released, the contents of the manual will more or less be the same as the rules from Book1 (and maybe the encounter system from Book2? Dunno), but the somewhat notorious amount of errata for this game has been written into it and other parts have been clarified. Everything making it much more managable for newcomers to get a grasp of the rules.

All the core mechanics remain the same and the stat cards for the models will remain the same (although they've just been redone to V2 aswell with a few slight changes).

This is at least my understanding of how things will unfold :)

Oh and a stripped down pdf-version of the manual will be made available for free at some point in the not too far-off future.

Edit: I made it sound as there won't be any changes to the rules at all with the manual, which is not exactly correct, but I 'think' it'll mostly be with terrain interactions and such. Just a month and we'll know for sure :P

It should be safe to buy miniatures though!

Edited by Wodschow