Box Sets for New Players Question

Greetings all,

New player here from Central California.

My Girlfriend and I each want to pick u a starter box and get these on the table.

My question:

are the Legion of Sorrow and the Redchappel Gang a decent way to start?

How do they match-up vs. one another.

Are they ok for the initial learning curve (I read they are)

will they expand well, or should we somehow choose one "good" faction to balance them out?

We like these minis best, however.

She plays card games and I am a miniature wargame player (both skirmish and squad based) for about 15 years. We pick things up quick but I wanted to grab some expert advice for newbies to the Malifaux world.

Thanks in advance for your help.

My boyfriend and I started out with those exact same starting box sets. I'm extremely new to wargaming and haven't grasped all the rules and tactics yet. I've played three games with Pandora (two vs Seamus, one vs gremlins) and lost all three...by a lot. Again, I haven't even come close to figuring out the Legion of Sorrows tactics yet...all I know is that Seamus and his Copy Cat Killer are insane vicious against Pandora if they get their shots off. Although I have heard Pandora is one of the toughest masters to figure out, but worth it to figure out.

Not much help in answering your question, but that's just been my experience being super new to the game. (She's fun as hell to paint though :proud: )