What are the best crews for new players?

Baka Al

Hi, I was hoping some of you experienced players may be able to help me out here..

Just found out about this game, and am currently awaiting delivery of the rules, along with the cult of december and death marshals crew boxes.. (I'll be honest.. I picked those two as really liked the models there!)

Now are these crews good ones to start the game with? I ask as I will be dragging the game around to several of my friends to get them playing, but I don't want to be using crews that are really complex to play with, as will be showing this off to both people experienced with mini games (specifically the whole gamut of GW's releases) through to total novices.

I am tempted by Pandora's crew, but I assume that this one will be using all of those rules I'm hoping to avoid here!

So, any advice on this matter will be gratefully appreciated!

I think those are probably good choices. Pandora is seen as a bit more complex, Lilith is another one that people think is good for beginners, and I think the Ortegas (Perdita and crew) are another fairly straightforward bunch.

Good luck, and welcome to the game!

Thanks for the reply... Lillith is a bit of a surprise one actually, as looking at the models, I thought that it might have been one of the complex options as well!

Nice to know that I've got a couple of simpleish crews on the way then!

Out of interest, how do the various factions generally play? (I'm sure the rule book will give some idea.. just interested to know what/how much variety in play styles there are here..)

Actually you have picked up two good crews to start with : Lady J is a monster in melee, whereas Tina is fantastic at long range but crumples if anyone who gets up close and personal with her. Its a nice contrast to start with.