Newbie help please :)

moonrise

i'm a little new to the painting aspect of the hobby, and i was wondering if i could get some beginner friendly advice :)? i plan on painting a different theme onto my Menoth army. currently here's what i had in mind:

armor: very, very, very dark brown (50:50 umbral umber, thamar black mix)

metallic trims: tamiya enamel gold leaf (honestly, i like this ^_^)

now... here's what i plan on asking the veterans of the Wyrd forums:

cloth and tapestries: what colors should i slap on to compliment the armor?

and

how do i paint blue flames along with its related OSL? i'm kinda sick with the traditional fire color, and so i wanted a new one hehe.

as of now i only carry p3 paints and a select few tamiya enamels, plus tamiya acrylic's clear red and smoke. it'd really help if you guys give mixes/names using the p3 range hehe.

thanks, and more power to you all!

My first thought, along the lines that Demonherald was stating with the pale bone coloring, would be to start with P3 Hammerfall Khaki, progress your highlights through P3 Rucksack Tan and P3 Menoth White Base and hightlight with P3 Menoth White Highlight.

I think that you could work your OSL with the colors that you mentioned.

Good luck. I hope that the suggestions help and post some progress pics as you go.

ah... will definitely take that in to consideration!

as for painting OSL... how DO i paint it without making the area too... erm... "blue"? beginner friendly step by step would be greatly appreciated :)

anyhow, thanks!

Without a huge tutorial, the best advice I can give regarding painting OSL is to mix the underlying color to your blue (or other light source color).

For example, painting brown armor with a blue light source, add some brown to your blue light. Remember that light isn't 100% opaque on a model and that what's being lit should still show through.