Learning to think about the game.

cromlyn

Im a beginner two games under my belt. One was sandeep "wall of gamin" vs a five strong Tony gang. The second was sandeep "small tough elite" vs brewmaster and pandora threeway.

Obviously the games played very differently.

So i am wondering what rules of thumb people use.

Do you choose schemes based on vp available, then buy models for that scheme at five soulstones per vp probable?

Do you budget x cards per scheme or y cards to caster, rest for criticals? Wall of gamin i had so many low value activations i could afford to keep all cards for Sandeep, but with a small tough force every activation was precious and sandeep starved for cards.

Do you split forces along beat down and area control? Im starting to think of summoning as a movement trick, not a resource one, dropping a tough metal gamin on an objective is better then dropping a fast wind gamin that will not survive.

But it feels like area control/ denial is not critical in malifaux compared to potential move and reach of actions.

Do you put any consideration into guessing/ preventing /frustrating opponents schemes? Or is the complexity distraction and focus on scoring more important?

Each game has 20 victory points available. (10 for you and 10 for your opponent).

I choose schemes based on my thoughts that I can achieve it. I like to try and build my list to be able to do at least 3 of the available schemes because then I can make a choice after I have seen what I am facing.

On a turn by turn basis I have no formal rule of thumb about what I need my hand for, but if there are critical actions I expect to happen in the turn I will try to assign them the cards if I can. During the turn I may use the cards for something else, but only if I expect that it more important than the original use.

Area control and denial can be important in some games. Likewise beatdown is important in some games, but not others.