NOT another "what paint is the best?" thread

MrG

As I moved to the european side of the pond, I had to sell all my colors, brushes, airbrush etc... Back to square one, it is though but it offers a fresh start.

I would like to get back to this (costly) hobby, but this time I would like some feedback before I commit to purchases. My previous experience was with Vallejo Model Colors, Vallejo Primers and Neo Iwata Airbrush (just a starter one since I've never had any experience) used more for priming/basecoating/basing and basic/mid level brushes.

PROS with what I had: Nice range of colors, Solid primers, cheap airbrush to get "the job done"
CONS with what I had: Colors needed to be shaken a lot due to separation, problems of consistency when tinning colors for the airbrush, airbrush not always consistent when spraying (easily clogged/dried paint even after thinning).

I am a newbie and I recognize I absolutely need more painting practice but having worked for years as assistant photographer/graphic designer I have a good knowledge about color theory and such. In my (little) painting experience I prefer paints that have a matte finish (I really don't like shiny miniatures) but I would like to have some feedback from you awesome painters on what types/brands you use and why you chose it:

What paints do you use and why did you choose them? What are their pros and cons?
What primer and why?
What washes/pigments?
What airbrush if you have one? (I was thinking about the H&S Evolution that is a step up form the Neo Iwata but still not as expensive as the professional ones)

Thanks!

Thinned paints, on a wet palette, are the best paints.  :)  (If you're being fancy and using a brush, that is.)