Newcomer first buy list

Caporale

Hi guys, 

I'm pretty new at the game so I need some advice to define the first buy list (with an easy to learn master) to get into the game.

Is seamus's crew box a good starting point? If so, what should I add to make a consistent list? 

Any advice is really appreciate :) 

Disclaimer, Seamus is my favorite master. 

Yes Seamus’ box is good. But the question is are you looking to play competitively or just play for theme and fun?

Seamus is currently not a competitive master. You can certainly win games with him, and he isn’t garbage, but if you ever plan to play competitive events and competitive players are going to attend I’d estimate you’ll either need them to play weaker masters, hope they make a massive game changing mistake, or be 30 to 40% better than the opposing player to consistently win with Seamus. 

In Malifaux, in general, the more experienced and better player will win. But if you run into a player of equivalent skill, your master choice can give you a substantial edge over your opponent, between 30 to 50% of an edge or more.

At adepticon this year a mono-Seamus player came in 4th, so at a mid level competitive event, a fairly good player who constantly ran into players using lower tier masters did pretty well. I think that’s about the best you can expect, and that rarely. If that’s totally cool for you here’s my recommendations:

Dead Docies

Carrion Emissary

Yin

Anna Lovelace

Kentauroi

The Colette smoke and mirrors box from Arcanists.

If you are looking to go more competitive grab:

Nicodem Box

Reva Box

Molly Box

Carrion Enissary

Asura Rotten

Mindless Zombies

Kentauroi

Archie

Dead Doxies

Schemes and stones has a pretty good buy list for every master. Usually I would recommend picking a faction with the highest number of masters you like, and stick with that faction. https://schemesandstones.wordpress.com/2016/07/25/building-on-a-budget-ressurectionists/