Evaine's Painting Playground

Evaine

Hi all! I'm Evaine. I'm a new-again miniature painter - Malifaux has me started again after about a 10 year break. There are quite a few more resources available now than when I started painting in my late teens/early 20s (for example: the internet!), so I feel I've already improved on my techniques quite a bit. One day, if I'm particularly brave (or intoxicated), I might be convinced to post examples of my early work. For now though, I'm going to focus on my Malifaux minis. I'll put pictures of my completed work in this post and my WIP in separate posts. In addition to working full time and having a family, I'm kind of a compulsive perfectionist, so don't be surprised if my painting seems to crawl at a snail's pace.

Current WIP: Freikorps (entire box set)

Completed: Johan, Convict Gunslinger, Ronin x 2, Viktorias

Edited by Evaine
Added pictures, updated lists.

My primary crew is the Viktorias, so I decided to start with their box set. However, my painting is very rusty so I chose Johan to paint first as I don't really use him in play.

Here's the first WIP pic (from 14/08/11). I've only done the face and torso at this point, and base coated the boots - the rest is primer:

JohanWIP1.jpg

My current WIP (from 17/08/11). I've only base coated the cloak and the haft of the hammer. I haven't done anything with the metallics yet. The tatoo on the back of his left shoulder is my first attempt at free-hand ever.

JohanWIP3.jpg

JohanWIP4.jpg

Edited by Evaine
Added pictures & post

Beautiful skin tone, lovely painting. Can't wait to see the rest!

My only suggestion would be to tone down the eyes with a glaze or two- looks like you have used actual white for the eyeballs. Many painters tend to use an off-white for the whites of the eyes, and a dark grey for the pupils, as it makes the eyes look less glarey.

Nice work! I'm looking into getting the Vikis box, myself. I'll be keeping an eye on this thread.