Homemade Graveyard

Drazulfel

This is my first attempt at a complex piece of homemade terrain (complex meaning, more than cutting out a piece of felt). Here's what I did...

• The base is foamcore. I ran over the edges a bit with the electric sander to create a smooth slope.
  • I mixed some Crayola Air-Dry clay in a bowl of water to make it real wet and slimy, and created a shallow mound on top of the foamcore. That way, my graveyard wouldn't be totally flat. Very, very, very messy!
  • Once the clay was dry, I coated it with a layer of watered down PVC glue to give it strength. Air-Dry clay is awfully brittle.
  • I base coated the finished terrain with brown, suede-textured spray paint, then top coated with green granite-textured spray paint.
  • Michael's Crafts has their Halloween stuff out, so for $2.99 I picked up a set of Spooky Town Tombstones. They average 1" in height, so it's almost like they're made for Malifaux. I glued them down with PVC glue.
  • The dead tree in back is hand-crafted from dark brown Premo Sculpey, baked at 270 degrees for an hour and 15 minutes. I used a wood grain mold that my wife had lying around to get the texture.
  • The plant life consists of 2 different types of moss from Quality Growers. You can get bags of it at Michael's for $5-7, or order online. It's grown locally, and I know the couple that owns the farm, so happy to give them some business. The moss is glued down with Aleene's Tacky Glue.
  • Finally, I coated the whole thing one last time with a severely watered down layer of PVC glue. It's getting late, I want to get to bed, and I got impatient, so I took my pictures while it was still wet. By morning, it shouldn't be quite so shiny

IMG_1338.jpg

IMG_1342.jpg

IMG_1339.jpg

IMG_1341.jpg

IMG_1340.jpg

So that's that. My first project. Total cost was probably less than $10. Took me all evening to make, with a lot of Netflix time in between to allow paint to dry and clay to cure.