Newbie: any masters to avoid?

Doppelbock

I've been playing Warmachine & Hordes for a couple of years now and am just getting into Malifaux now. Are there any masters that I should stay away from until I've got some experience playing? I've seen a couple of threads regarding masters that are good for noobs but I'm curious about which ones are the tricksy ones (Marcus is the only one I've really seen called out).

I want to get a couple of starter boxes since nobody in my area plays yet and I want to learn it, then demo it for my gaming buddies so using a master that is too subtle is not going to help.

I would stay away from:

1) Leveticus since he plays differently then all the other masters and can be kind of tricky to handle

2) Somer Teeth since gremlins can be rather frustrating and difficult to win with (plus you need a lot of models and the starter does not really match up well point wise)

I would say those are the two big ones, maybe Marcus and maybe Zordida although I have not really played with either or played against anyone with them for that matter. Zordida seems like her rules might be a little tricky. Marcus seems like rules wise he would be ok to play, the player might just have a little bit of a tougher time (not sure if that would stop him from being fun to give a whirl though).

In addition to that, the rezzer box sets (with kind of the exception of Seamus) are a little incomplete as you will want to rezz things that you do not have the models for, so I you would probably have to proxy. Ramos is in a slightly similar boat but probably not as bad. If you pick him up I would suggest buying some extra small bases and making one swarm and three individual small spiders for his crew.

Agree with PP and would probably add Pandora to the list. She can be very tricky to use but very effective when you know how.

She does have one of the coolest boxes though, so does tend to draw attention if your trying to get new players into the game.