Jump to content
  • 0

Errata on "actions generated by triggers" new text vs defensive triggers question


Question

Hi, probably a stupid newbie question but I gotta ask since this text in the March 2020 errata confuses me even more.

Quote

Pg 12. Actions Generated by Triggers Callout – Paragraph 2 Change the text of the paragraph to: “Actions generated by Triggers (and any subsequent Actions generated) cannot declare Triggers, and like other generated Actions, they do not count against a model’s Action limit.”

So, I wonder, if I play for instance Tony Ironsides, and that an opponent uses a generated attack that cannot declare triggers, does my defense declares triggers or does it also prevents it, as being subsequent ?
In other words, can Tony use her trigger DF:Good shot, my turn on a generated attack ?

Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
50 minutes ago, JemmyVonJude said:

Hi, probably a stupid newbie question but I gotta ask since this text in the March 2020 errata confuses me even more.

So, I wonder, if I play for instance Tony Ironsides, and that an opponent uses a generated attack that cannot declare triggers, does my defense declares triggers or does it also prevents it, as being subsequent ?
In other words, can Tony use her trigger DF:Good shot, my turn on a generated attack ?

The words "Actions generated by Triggers ... cannot declare Triggers" actually means "Models that are performing an Action that was generated by a Trigger ... cannot declare Triggers."  You can probably blame TOS's trigger mechanics for why the wording here isn't as clear as it could be.  😕 

In other words, that statement doesn't do anything to prevent Defensive Triggers being used.  

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information