Overwhelmed with Vallejo

BlindJustice

So I've been painting miniatures for a long time now (started when I was about 9 and now I'm 26), but I am entirely self taught. Recently I broke away from my Citadel crutch and started using vallejo paints for the Infinity project I started about a year ago. I love the line, but was able to use Angel Giraldez's facebook page to get an idea of the colors I wanted to use to get the effects I wanted. Where with citadel I was experienced with their comparatively limited line and knew what colors to use to get the results I wanted, I don't have the same experience with the much more extensive vallejo lines and am struggling to determine which colors I want to use. 

Has anyone else run into this? I assume trial and error is the only way to overcome being overwhelmed, just wanted to see how others have tackled using this line.

• Like 1

I don't know how encompassing they are, but you can check the the two links (To follow) that have charts relating the paint lines.  This first one relates it to some of the older GW lines colors, as well as P3 (Privateer Press's paint line), Master Class (Reapers paint line) and some misc.  The color matches aren't exact mind you, but it's a jumping point for comparison to something you may be use to.  This second one is more of a focus on a personal list someone made of triads they use for highlight // shade using Vallejo's lines. This could be more helpful if you're looking to find which color pots might work best for a given color scale, since Vallejo doesn't lay their paint charts out the same as GW's which basically have Shade // Layer // Highlight as a staple of their product's layout.