Master(s) to start with

LulleK

Hello!

I'm relatively new to Malifaux, but I love it! Right now I'm playing Arcanists, but I'm very tempted to start Neverborn as my second faction. I am therefore looking for some reccomendations from you guys! My question is: If I was to focus on two, maybe three crews to begin with, which ones would you suggest, covering the most schemes/strategies? Are there any masters considered more "OP" or competitive than others? In Arcanists I focus mostly on Ramos and Colette, because they are very good and complement each other very well. are there any masters in Neverborn who are like that? And also, of your recommendations, which one would you buy first and why? Thanks in advance!

Edited by LulleK
  • Like 1

I'd invest in the theme you feel like playing first and concentrate on enjoying the game. You will probably need to rethink your strategies from the ground up either way, that is after all the point of switching factions. As long as you don't go with Lucius, Zoraida & Collodi at the same time I think you eill find that the masters complement each other. Pull my finger has a breakdown of every master (I think they list preferred strats) and there are numerous podcasts giving you everything you need to know about one master at a time. I like schemes & stones personally but there are other great podcasts I forget the name of.

• Like 1

Pandora is surprisingly a the most straightforward master in the Neverborn, she is a bruiser that messes with activation sequence.

I focus on Pandora, Dreamer and Lilith, the first two have a lot of overlap to there crews and the last is because I LOVE nephilim. They also play differently and cover a lot of basses. I actually started as an Arcanist back in 1st ed. Dreamer also has overlap to a degree with Collodi. Most people might also tell you to pic up Lynch's Box but there is a lot of illuminated love.