Starting off Malifaux

Kofibrake

Hello bayou dwellers

I am relatively new to this.

Have collected Gremlins for about 2 months. Actually, have started Malifaux about 2 months ago. Purchased 1 box crew + Fate deck + rulebook + 1 unit of add-ons

Purchased Ophelia's boxed crew, 2 slop haulers, Burt Jebsen, Gracie (Wong always sold out, DAMMIT), Sommer Teeth Jones and the University of Transmortis (wait, what??).

As my usual game partner (for Warhammer 40K at least) gave me the turn around and instead of purchasing his own crew box went for bolt action, I have yet to play my first game. Sad, I know.

I have been reading about tactica and stuff for at least a month and a half.

Already have a few ideas lined up for my first game. and for the other one after that.

I was considering an extra box of Bayou Gremlins as Sommer is the gremlin factory, but i dont really see many people fielding more than 1 set of them. So how useful will it be?

If you want to play Sommer as a serious summoner, then you need more than 4 gremlins. He is capable of summoning 3 a turn if he does nothing else.

But he is perfectly playable without the FAmily tree upgrade, and even taking the upgrade he doesn't have to spend every AP summoning, buth rather could happily summon occasionally just to keep you at 4 bayou gremlins.

I've played several games where Sommer has summoned 8+ gremlins over the course of the game, but you probably wouldn't need more than 8 gremlins in total for that I'm not sayign its impossible to get higher that that, but if you've got 8 gremlins running around over the board  and your opponent uisn't killing them, thn eitehr you're not gettign them to do what they need to do, or you're winnign big time.

I would suggest playing a few games with him. Don't focus on summonign as many as you can, just do it occasionally, and see if you feel that you would do better with more than 4 models. If the answer is yes, then look to buying another pack.