Map building "tool" for Malifaux (homemade)

Ok, I couldn't find any other place to post this, hope it's the right section.

Currently working on 2 crews at the moment, taking my time, and also on a Puppet Wars box (assembly done, bases done, remains the painting, eventually :P). Since I'm new at painting, it's loooong, and I vary my activities not to get tired of it.

Meanwhile, I'm preparing the terrain for Malifaux and trying different setups. Since I bought WorldWorksGames CastleWorks, along with some buildings and roads from Graffam, I wanted to explore the possiblities. So I endend up rendering a map (in 3D please !) of some of the pieces put together. I left an opening at the front for the gatehouse (didn't model it yet), and the village still remains to be built (although you can figure out where you'd put the buildings).

Took me a couple hours yesterday with the free version of sketchup, but here is a first attempt. It's a 4'x4', instead of 3x3, since we will be 3 or 4 players. Anyway, I thought maybe the more experienced players could give their opinion on how this could work (or not), depending on the scenarios played.

post-15339-13911931875939_thumb.jpg

post-15339-13911931876673_thumb.jpg

So, any thoughts ?

post-15339-13911931875939_thumb.jpg

post-15339-13911931876673_thumb.jpg

It certain looks cool, but I'd be careful straying too far the standard 36" board, as the models are in theory balanced on those distances. For example, on a standard board, a focused Hans can shoot all the way across the board, the number of turns (5) may not be as sufficient for schemes like breakthrough where you are required to get close to the opposing deployment t zone, is "From the Shadows" too good on a bigger board, etc.