Kirai Box Set - New to Malifaux

Lactone

Hello! I am just starting to get into Malifaux, and my first purchases were the Kirai box set, a fate deck, and a rulebook.

First of all, is there anything else I should buy? I am heading over to the shop tomorrow to trade in some of my magic cards to buy paint so I can start painting my crew, but I am wondering if there are any individual guys I should buy to optimize my crew, of if I should just play with exactly what comes in the box set?

Second of all, can anyone give me any advice on playing Kirai? From what I understand, she and her basic crew are very powerful, but I am worried since I am still a noob, I will not be able to fully utilize her potential. Is this true?

Any and all relevant information on this master and her optimal crew would be much appreciated. Thanks!

I'm thinking about getting the Nico Box set next with a couple Canine Remains as crew additions/replacements. Thoughts on this idea? I've heard he is a good one to start out with, but I have also heard he is horribly weak and awful.

Edited by Lactone

I started playing Kirai in the New Year and have slowly been building up my crew and experience with her.

You will need the Lost Love and a total of 5 Seishin before going any further. I would also recommend 2 Shikome – one is almost essential but I found the second tipped the balance in my favour. A couple of Gaki are essential too as part of Datsue-Ba's summoning tricks. I have also found a couple of Insidious Madness to be very useful indeed as a lot of the combat is against the enemy's Wp not Df and they can give -ve flips, plus they're very quick.

If you get chance read up on my experiences at:

http://the-dark-templar.blogspot.com/search/label/Resurrectionists

Also have a look at the Pull My Finger Wiki and this blog entry:

http://tehmongoose.blogspot.com/2012/02/kirai-crew-tactica.html

Edited by Malcontent