Collette vs Somer 35 SS

jasonbeauchene

Wadders and I had a good game Wednesday night, thanks for the game it was enjoyable. I am still learning the game, as is Wadders, so I wanted to try some things out that I hadn't done before. I started with a new master, Collette, and tried out two Scheme's I hadn't played before.

In the beginning flips we had our Encounter in the Quarantine zone, and got Disturbing Whispers (which we never flipped for-but neither of us had a WP duel either-does it impact the WP flip for Harmless? I don't think so, because I believe it says defender-but I could be wrong). The terrain was Koyote's ruins, which gave us a fair amount of area and obstacle pieces. For the deployment zones we ended up with 12" squares in corners-which has been my deployment type for the past four games. For strategies we flipped for individual ones, and I got Turf War and Wadders got Supply Wagon.

I was already committed to Collette as my master for the game, so Turf War could be tough for me because my models are fragile and Gremlins reproduce-so I didn't feel I could lose any Significant models (Mannequins and Pigeons be damned). Wadders had Supply Wagon which was a good one for him with me having Turf War because I couldn't afford to sacrifice a model or two in the middle if I was going to get my 4 VP-so I figured the game was going to come down to schemes.

I chose a couple of schemes I hadn't tried yet, it would have made sense to grab Breakthrough and Stake a Claim with Turf War, but I wanted to try some things I hadn't done before. I instead chose Sabotage-the Arcanist only one, which turned out to be pretty easy, and Kill Protege-knowing that Wadders crew would probably have a Warpig, and that it would only be useful against me in Hand to Hand-so either he would have to scrap a 1/4 of his models and his only real damage dealer to stop me from 2 VP, or I would have to kill it quickly when it got to me.