New to Malifaux

As the subject line says I'm new to Malifaux. I played my first game two weeks ago. I had a blast. The shop owner Mike (Of Nexus Games) let me use his Guild crew, while my brother ran Ramos (i think). Genetic ran me through a basic game & I loved it.

Now I'm saving for my first crew & was considering either buying a Viktoria's crew boxset , plus Ronin's box or possibly going with resurrectionists. With the resurrectionists , I'm not sure what I'd go for , as I like a mix of ranged 'shootiness' & melee 'choppiness' ;) . I don't own the book yet , which'll have to wait till after I get my first minis.

For a person with out access to a rulebook & stats, would a Viktorias/Ronin crew fit my desired style of play or some form of Resurrectionist with more of a combat focus, do better. I'm only considering Resurrectionists as I hear that Victorias & Ortegas are fairly popular locally. I'd consider a Guild crew but the shop owner & a friend of Genetic's is also playing a guild crew. So I don't want to over lap on my first crew. After I get used to the rules I might try a more magic focused crew like : Arcanist or Neverborn crew. Any advise would be much appreciated.

I think the Viktoria set + Ronin would fit the style you're after perfectly. They're very mobile, really good damage dealers in melee and have some nice ranged options as well. If you feel like you need more ranged punch, they can hire Convict Gunsliger or Hans.

Resurrectionists are great in melee as well but they really lack ranged attacks. Outside the Masters, none of them can really compete in that department. The Ressers are more about being extremely hard to get rid of and win their way through attrition.