Jump to content

ChrisLucPicard

Members
  • Content Count

    11
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About ChrisLucPicard

  • Rank
    Peon
  • Birthday 03/17/1981

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Hey guys! If any of you are anywhere near the Comox Valley, on Vancouver Island, a group of us have just started up a weekly Malifaux League at the Broken Spoke Cafe (420 Fitzgerald Avenue, Courtenay) Thursday nights starting at 7pm. For more information feel free to email us at nerdtopiaweekly@gmail.com There will be demo crews and a charismatic and handsome Henchmen available for new and interested players! As well as regular play. After a few weeks, as we've had time to build the group, we'll start the first of our "Campaigns" which will take place over the course of 1-2 months, most likely with our first major Campaign beginning in September.
  2. Unless the "Arcanist Ties" rule WAS meant to mean literally "any". In which case, giving him the SF tag doesn't change anything (in a Hoffman crew). And it still prevents Ryle from being combo-ed with ANYthing other than the Miner. It's not like it allows a weird flood of unintended combos? At this point, in case anyone had missed it. I bow to the "ruling" just arguing for the sake of discussion?
  3. @Dreygan "Taking ryle, does not prevent you from taking steamborg executioner or steampunk arachnids or any other archanist construct without a special forces tag that fits within that rule." Nope, just the one, which is why it feels so wrong to me? @Nilus That is the greatest story ever told. I have already begun work on my House Ruled Ryle/Miner/Corphee Duet Love Triangle Crew. ---------- Post added at 01:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:41 PM ---------- "Taking ryle, does not prevent you from taking steamborg executioner or steampunk arachnids or any other archanist construct without a special forces tag that fits within that rule." That's exactly why I feel like my interpretation should be "more correct" the rule clearly lets you take the REST of the Arcanist constructs, and limits JUST the Soulstone Miner. That's the conflicting part of the rule, that to me, doesn't make sense. Arcanist Ties is clearly a "Unlocks Arcanist Construct" rule in intent. Then, due to a SF wording, placing an extra restriction for crew building, a single Arcanist Construct is dis-included from that list, but ONLY when taking Ryle. I read the intent of the rule, as being that Hoffman can take any Arcanist Constructs, and the idea that the Miner is banned, but only when taking Ryle, seems like an unintended rule conflict. Unless it's literally interpreted as "any"? Or if we assume Nilus' story is correct... which I'm more and more inclined to do.
  4. Is it possible to read too much into the word "any"? ---------- Post added at 01:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:02 PM ---------- It also just feels weird thematically that taking Ryle (his brother) somehow locks out the extra constructs he's supposed to be able to take? Seems like a strange restriction that doesn't suit the thematic "purpose"? Oh well... sigh... ---------- Post added at 01:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:09 PM ---------- Also, I never said "infallible"... I'm still right, I just accept your interpretation as "correct" (obnoxious quotation marks included) as a Henchmen. In case no one caught it... full sarcasm was included in this post.
  5. I'm interpreting it the same way you are, just taking the idea of; "Arcanist ties expands it to include a few constructs from the arcanist faction" to mean that Hoffman can take Arcanist Constructs without restriction, except the listed restrictions, and SF considerations, are not listed. However, I bow to the Henchmen, who know far more than I do?
  6. Rules Manual, p. 10: "A Crew can not contain models from more than one Special Forces group." Ryle is Special Forces (Elites Division). Soulstone Miner is Special Forces (M&SU Asset). That is the core rule, the "specific" rule is Arcanist Ties, which says Hoffman can hire any Construct without the two "Heart" abilities. Hiring Ryle as my one type of SF, still leaves the Miner fitting the requirements of the "Specific" rule, which you're supposed to follow over the "core" rule. ---------- Post added at 12:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:41 PM ---------- The Soulstone Miner IS an Arcanist Construct, without the Frozen or Smoldering Heart Abilities, and subject to the Arcanist Tie rules (again, a "specific" rule, which is supposed to take precedence over the "core" rules) which in my interpretation, give Hoffman "free reign" over Guild and Arcanist Constructs? "Free Reign" would seem strange to have limitations put on it?
  7. Even though the specific rule contradicts the core rule? When the book says "...when the specific rule contradicts the core rules, follow the specific rule rather than the core rule"?
  8. Okay guys, got a Hoffman question for you! I've been playing my Hoffman crew with both Ryle and the Soulstone Miner, ignoring the "A Crew can not contain models from more than one Special Forces group." in favour of Hoffman's "Arcanist Ties"? Maybe it's just the GW influence, but I read this as a "Codex Supercedes All" kind of situation? Arcanist Ties reads; "Crews containing this model may hire Arcanist Contructs without the Frozen Heart or Smoldering Heart Abilities" Hiring Ryle as my one type of "Special Forces" unit, the Miner still fits the requirements listed by Arcanist Ties. I'll refer to the Introduction of book one? "Breaking the Rules:Gameplay rules are intended to be understood when taken as a whole. They create the framework... blah blah blah... When a model's specific rule or ability contradicts these core rules, follow the specific rule rather than the core rules." Come on guys... I want to play with both in my list. I'm right... right?
  9. awesome picture rape much

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information