how do you demo?

Bloaty

Hello. Ive been playing for a few years and I have a buddy whos interested in the game. He tried a different skirmish style game a while back and our buddy tried to teach him but explained it so poorly he wont play the game. He basically explained the rules as he did the actions which resulted in him winning quite brutally and played painfully unbalanced lists. I want to avoid that happening with malifaux so I wanted to ask here to see whats best as far as strats and schemes for demoing that wont overwhelm him. Whats a good ss to start with. I was thinking 40. He is interested in neverborn and will borrow my lilith and nephilim. Ill probably play arcanists but also have 10t. Available. We're just using book one stuff. Who would be a fair match up? Thanks for any help, im very paranoid about ruining this game for him so I want to make a good experience out of it.

Sorry for any grammatical errors tbis was done on my phone during lunch. >_<

I've had luck running games to teach them the basics of the game at 15 points. It keeps it small, and quick enough that they won't forget the strats and schemes right off the bat and lets them have some fun with things. Then go to 30 so they can play with masters.

I usually just run the game as normal and put it in perspective for the new player. (Instead of explaining how to get bodyguard and all that, just say "keep Kang alive" or instead of explaining all the intricacies of Protect Territory, just say "have a guy go to a point a ways down the board, stick a flag in the ground and protect it", etc etc. Then they're thinking about how to interact with the crew, rather then remembering rules which seems to help imo)

other wise it comes down to how I play the crew, I don't botch the game, but I'll not use every move in the book to beat people down, or I'll play odd or quirky lists instead.