Newbie's Painting, oh no!

hippieshopper

I am a complete newbie when it comes to painting stuff... Models, canvas, or anything like that.

That's why I am posting to you guys/gals here. I could really use some help. Now, I don't mind if you just point me in another direction and say "this place has great stuff on that!" because I don't even know where to start.

My buddy, who also got me addicted to this game, has some paint and supplies, so that isn't much of an issue.

My main question(s) is/are:

1. Is this like painting other stuff in that you need primer?

2. Also, on that note, if I have to do that, could I just 'dip' the whole thing in there and let it dry?

3. Is there any "layering" involved, and if so, what order?

[ex. Base coat, detailing, etc...]

4. Do I need to glue them to the bases first?

(I know I actually have to assemble them before anything)

5. I've noticed a lot of people have terrain under their model's feet. How do you do that?

Rob Zombie fan, eh? Good. =]

Well, I'll start off with the basics. Yes, Personally I prime all my models. When i first open their packages, I trim off the "flashing", wash them off to remove any mold release that might be left, then when they dry off, I spray prime them. I use black for just about everything, but i know others that use white instead. It's personal preference.

I would refrain from dipping though. I'd be afraid of losing the detail, especially in the faces.

Depending on the colors i choose for the fig, i like to start with base coats, then highlight, then i'll wash the model with black or a darker color. once that is done, i do touch-ups, then blending. *a tip i've found helpful is to start with the eyes, then the face, then the rest of the mini.