Jump to content

ArcMaster

Vote Enabled
  • Posts

    180
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by ArcMaster

  1. First Dimensional Instability's text posted for reference.

    Dimensional Instability: During Scouting, place three 50mm Portal Markers on the board in any location at least 8" from any other Markers and not in your opponent’s deployment zone. When a Cult of the Burning Man Fireteam in this Company comes into (or starts in) base contact with a friendly Portal Marker, you may place its unit in base contact with any other friendly Portal Marker. Fireteams that move in this way may not use any remaining movement that was granted by the Order, and cannot use the Dimensional Instability rule again during this Activation.

    In the last sentence where it says "Fireteams that move in this way ect...."  Does the wording mean that only the initiating fire team (and those like it hence the plural) lose the movement from an order and not any other fire teams in the unit, or that all fire teams that moved in that particular use of dimensional instability?

    I'm fairly certain that it's the later, but I've seen someone argue for the former.

  2. 21 minutes ago, Thisendup said:

    Low hazardous terrain affects titans just the same as everyone else except they can draw line of sight through it without penalty. They still take the strength 3 hit, just the same as if the ran through difficult terrain (which would be a strength 2 hit)

    Perhaps we have a different interpretation on page 18 (in the free online rulebook) of the following passage in the third paragraph:

    "Below are various Terrain Traits. These Traits apply to all Fireteams, but a Trait may be modified by High or Low. A Trait that is High only affects Titan Fireteams. A Trait that is Low only affects non-Titan Fireteams."

    So as far as I understand if it's Hazardous and low it does not affect Titans.  It would also be weird in the example terrain to have the distinction between say Undergrowth, and Forest (dense) when it comes to difficult terrain.

    EDIT: ninja'd by Clement

  3. For Reference:

    R Give In to Hunger: This Action immediately gains +2 Margin Value for every Reinforcement Token on this unit.

    Does the Margin gained from this trigger on the Alpha Crawler's attack provide it to just the Duel part of the action, or both the Duel and the penetration flip?

    please give as detailed a response as possible to the rules and page numbers used to come up with the answer.  

    Thank you a ton in advance.

  4. 1 minute ago, WWHSD said:

    I think that those are legit conversations that should happen over on the open beta forums once the new folks have had a chance to actually be part of the discussion and not just have our opinions of M3E coloring their initial experiences.

    Out of curiosity do you think there are particular things that people in the current beta are saying are OP?  I'm just asking as someone who was unable to devote as much time as they would have liked on keeping track of those conversations.

  5. Just wanted to double check something that came up in recent game (still a bit new to TOS).

    When using the Gibbering Hordes Endless Numbers ability, do you get the full squad of 3 fire teams (or however many the squad normally has) or just 1 of the fire teams?   

    The Summoning rules in the Main rulebook seem to indicate it's just 1 fire team, but we weren't sure if it was somehow different for the Endless Numbers ability.

  6. With Guild Envoys you can pitch two cards to turn Thrace to her glory side upon activation, and based on this section of the rules:

    2. Choose Unit – Either Pass or choose a unit to Activate. If you choose to Activate a unit, any effects that occur when that unit Activates are resolved now. • Generate Tactics Tokens - If the unit has a Tactics value, its controller gains a number of Tactics Tokens equal to its Tactics value (see pg. 27).

    Leads me to believe that she would change from 1 tactics to 2 tactics before you get the tokens. 

    Is this the correct?

     

  7. Here is what I believe to be the pertinent paragraph (with comments by me in red):

    "To resolve a (single) disengaging strike, the enemy models (collectively) that are engaged with the moving model may choose to take a (single) free Attack Action with any one (single) Close (:melee) Attack which the disengaging model is within range of."

    If you were allowed a strike with each model then why when resolving a single strike do you choose an attack from any of the enemies engaged with the moving model?

    Let's boil away the parts that don't matter for determining plurality. So it looks more like this.

    "Enemy models take a free attack action with any one attack"

    So the models are taking an attack action. If we look in the steps for performing an action on we'll find that we only have rules that tell us how to perform an action for a single model at a time, unless these rules specifically allow for multiple models to share the same action. If that is the case how do we resolve models with wicked, attacking together with models that lack wicked?

    Overall it's just a rule that needs to be re-worded given other confusion other parts of it have caused. I'm sure it was one of those things the Designers had right in their minds, and was playtested a certain way because that's how people expected it a cerain way, and slipped through the cracks as a result. I'm confident that when they release the first FAQs for the game that they'll cover this.

  8. How does Mei Feng's, Price of Progress upgrade work with killing multiple models simultaneously? (such as using Scalding Breath from Vapormancy)

    The ability is worded "After this model kills or sacrifices a model, draw a card and heal 1 damage"

    So is it checking that she at least killed one model, or is it checking for each model killed? At first I thought it was for each model killed, but I'm not so sure any more.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information