Unconvential Purposes for Convential Methods

edonil

So, last night I was painting Seamus, and realized that I've been painting for approximately 10 years. Which got me thinking about just how much my painting style has evolved over the years, from laying down flat colors on some of the original LOTR GW figs, to drybrushing Space Marines, and then blending with a few pieces here and there. The biggest thing it got me thinking about, though, was the different techniques I've picked up that I use in ways that no one else I know does. I wanted to share a couple of them, and hopefully get some discussion going on different things people use (I'm always up for learning a new technique or two!).

- Glowing eyes. This is probably one of the first that I started using, and one of the simplest. I've got some old GW inks (thank goodness for that too, although I'm not looking forward to running out of them), so what I do is paint the whole eye silver or gold, depending on the desired effect, and then I'll wash it, very carefully, with an ink, usually red. The ink dries semi-translucent, and gives the feel of a slight glow.

- Metallic dresses. This one I haven't used as much recently, but I'm probably going to try it some more with stuff in Malifaux. The idea behind this is similar to the glowing eyes, but over a much larger area. I'll paint the dress Boltgun Metal, then layer it without blending with Chainmail and Mithril Silver. The changes in color won't really be noticeable at this point. Then, an ink wash over it all, and the colors are blended together and make a really pretty dress, actually. I've tried this with the new GW washes, and it can work depending on the color.