Newb, Sonnia Criid and expanding the scope

Hjelmen

Hi everyone!

I'm completely new to the world of Malifaux, and I've picked up Sonnia Criid as my Master.

My group and I are just starting out, so we're just playing with the starter-boxes, but I'm already starting to think ahead a bit.

I'm on quite a tight budget, so I can't really afford to expand in any old direction, so for the next tier (from 25SS to 30 SS), I'm going to add one model to the contents of the box. I'm not adverse to removing a Witchling Stalker from the crew to leave room for more goodies though. The models that I'm looking at are the Executioner and the Convict Gunslinger, or perchance removing a Witchling to add the Peacekeeper.

The Executioner fits in the "fluff", and seems to add some much needed heavy hitting to the original crew. The Convict is fitting as well (drafting some poor unfortunate from the nearest stockade, giving him a pair of old guns, and pointing him towards the enemy!), and gives some terrific firepower. The Peacekeeper is awesome, but then I'll be missing a Witchling Stalker...

Which of those would you suggest? I like the models almost equally, but there is the consideration of cost.

I have experienced that Sonnia really needs her soulstones, so if I add the Executioner, I'll only have 7, while the Gunslinger is cheap enough to let me have all possible 8. The Peacekeeper will leave me with 8, but then I'll be missing a Witchling to "get in the way" during the early game.

If you have any suggestions other than those two (and please not Nino Ortega. I understand that he's all that and a bottle of gin, but I cannot abide his miniature :)) feel free to point me in the right direction!

Thank you in advance for your help and comments!

Edited by Hjelmen

I haven't used the Executioner myself, though there are some who really like him.

I have used the Gunslinger, and he's fun. Especially if you can get/hold the right cards to use Trigger Happy a lot.