New to Malifaux...and Miniatures for that Matter!

nd23rin

Hello all-

I am new to miniature games, but very much into tactical and strategy board games...and thus card driven games and hand management are not that foreign to me. However, I saw the Malifaux minitatures and read a few things that appealed to me and made me think maybe I can make the leap. First, the fact that I don't need to rebuild my house to play a game....that I just need 3 X 3 or 4 X 4 is really cool. Second, this being a skirmish game and not needing to have 50 models on the table is a plus as well. Third, the cost is great and the card system seems very interesting...not to mention I have always had a thing for Victorian macabre! Now, that being said, I listened to a podcast review of the game, and I have some concerns:

1. I am not an experience painter by any means....given the fact that you don't really need to paint tons of models for Malifaux....is this going to be super time consuming? What do I need in terms of a starter set to be able to do the painting? I know that sounds lame, but I just don't know.

2. Terrain-wise, in the beginning if I don't feel ready to build something...can this game really be played in a "pick-up game" sense on the dining room table as they say?

3. As far as the mechanics go, from listening to the podcast it sounded really innovative but seemed also like just one guy chasing the other around a just shooting at each other. What are some of the deeper strategy and tactical aspects of this game?

4. This will be the world's dumbest question but when playing miniature games, how do you measure movement from one area to another given the table or terrain is not broken down into squares or hexes. Is it with the tape measure....if so, can you just move in any direction by that amount?

Thanks for all the help, and hopefully you all can help a true newb enjoy this game!

You've made a dandy decision, picking up Malifaux.