paintand glue question

zomblaya

Okay so i'm new to painting so i got some GW paint and washes. And i really don't like how they come out at all. So i'm looking to eather going to reaper or vallejo paints. What would you suggest? And also i have this super thin glue that doesn't hold very well And i'm not sure how to pin with green stuff so what type of glue do you suggest aswell Thanks!

QUESTION:

are the GW paints labled as "FOUNDATIONS"?

if so

it could be user error

I'm not saying one brand is better than another(Everyone has their own opinion)... just that How you use certain paints can effect the results

Foundations are just that; a foundation color

they are meant to be mixed with water or acrylic medium and blended with other colors to achieve the desired results

Re:Glue

I prefer and have great results with off brand or 'Superglu' brand GEL

fills in gaps small gaps nicely and helps creat a nice overall bond

with someof the other brands like GW's or ZAP-a-Gap

(I refuse to use them)

I find it helps (if you must use their stuff) to use BAKING SODA

not a lot mind you, just lightly dust the exposed wet ares as you are asembling the pieces

the Baking soda helps speed up the reaction and bonding process

Nope they all say citidel Color

well

if you don't like it, you don't like it...

My friends prefer Velajo over Reaper

but also admit you use what you need when you need it

myself I have GW foundations, Testors Poly paints and Military colors

and a few random other bottles of colors i couldn't figure out how to mix on my own ;)

When you say you're not happy with your results, what specifically do you mean? Is the paint obscuring detail? Clumping? Not covering well? If you can be more specific, we can give you proper advice.

As for your glue issue, drop by a model train shop or one that specializes in plastic model kits. They'll have a wider selection of glues in several viscosities. I like medium viscosity, but you may want something thicker.